Izagirre wins in Tour de France, no troubles for Froome
Jul 23 2016 11:36 pm CET

Izagirre wins in Tour de France, no troubles for Froome
Izagirre wins in Tour de France, no troubles for Froome

Ion Izagirre Insausti has won the final mountain stage in the Tour de France, finishing solo after forming part of a breakaway. Chris Froome stays in Yellow.

A large breakaway group formed early in stage 20, from Megeve to Morzine. Peter Sagan was among those in the lead group, as were Thomas De Gendt, Rui Costa, Nelson Oliveira, Vincenzo Nibali, Jarlinson Pantano, Julian Alaphilippe and Izagirre.

Bauke Mollema, who until the previous stage had been in second place in the overall standings, struggled on one of the early climbs and had to let go of the peloton. The Dutchman wouldn't give up however and fought his way back to the bunch.

The lead group was reduced after the climb with only eight riders remaining at the front: Izagirre, Nibali, Sagan, Kreuziger, Costa, Pantano, Alaphilippe and Gougeard.

While Astana increased the pace in the peloton, Alaphilippe attacked from the front and was soon joined by Colombian rider Pantano, who had already won a stage in this Tour de France.

The two built a significant lead over their chasers but Nibali had different plans and bridged the gap with those in front. Movistar's Izagirre followed minutes later.

Attacks kept happening in the front group on the final climb. Alaphilippe soon lost touch with his fellow escapees, leaving only three riders at the front.

Pantano almost missed a curve on the final descent but managed to stay on his bike. In the mean time, Izagirre was taking any risk necessary and managed to ride away from Pantano and Nibali.

Izagirre's final attacked proved to be sufficient and allowed the 27-year-old to secure Spain's very first victory in this Tour de France. Pantano came in seconds later before Nibali and Alaphilippe.

Not too many risks were taken by those in the group of favorites. Although there were some attempts to gain seconds in the final few kilometers, the differences between the main general classification riders were minimal and caused no changes to the top spots.

Chris Froome, who smiled in relief as he crossed the line, remains in first with a comfortable advantage over Romain Bardet. Nairo Quintana completes the top three and Adam Yates remains in fourth but takes home the White Jersey.

Fabio Aru was unable to keep up with the peloton on the final climb and ended up losing 17 minutes.
Photo of Ion Izagirre Insausti (cropped) by Movistar Team



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: