Hamburg Cyclassics: Bouhanni disqualified, Ewan wins
Aug 21 2016 11:26 pm CET

Hamburg Cyclassics: Bouhanni disqualified, Ewan wins
Hamburg Cyclassics: Bouhanni disqualified, Ewan wins

Australian Caleb Ewan of Orica-BikeExchange has won the Hamburg Cyclassics. The rider originally finished second but moved up when Nacer Bouhanni was disqualified.

The Classic Race was dominated by a group of escapees with Kamil Gradek, Matej Mohoric, Lukas Postlberger, Alessandro De Marchi and Maxat Ayazbayev spent a large part of the route ahead of the peloton.

With 30 kilometers to go, the lead had been reduced to just two minutes as the sprinters' teams set the pace at the front of the peloton in order to guarantee a chance for their leaders to shine in the year's flattest Classic finale.

A few attempts were made to bridge the gap between the peloton and the leaders as Rui Costa and Tony Gallopin attempted to join those in front, but the two were easily reeled in by the pack.

The breakaway's advantage continue to decrease as the finish line neared but for some time it looked like the four escapees could actually make it.

However, with just 300 meters to go, the last adventurer was caught by the peloton. In the final sprint, which was marred by a crash just behind the top sprinters, Bouhanni proved to have the better legs and finished ahead of Ewan of Orica-BikeExchange and Giant-Alpecin's John Degenkolb.

However, Bouhanni deviated from his line in the final meters, causing Ewan to swerve and lose pace. Shortly after the end of the race, the jury decided to disqualify the Frenchman.

As such, the top five consists of Ewan, Degenkolb, Giacomo Nizzolo of Trek-Segafredo, Danny van Poppel of Team Sky and Katusha's Alexander Kristoff.

To take part in our Prediction Game, which also includes one-day races such as the Hamburg Cyclassics, click HERE!
Photo of Caleb Ewan (cropped) by Orica-BikeExchange