Tour of Britain: Stage 4 victory for Dylan Groenewegen
Sep 07 2016 06:04 pm CET

Tour of Britain: Stage 4 victory for Dylan Groenewegen
Tour of Britain: Stage 4 victory for Dylan Groenewegen

Dylan Groenewegen of Lotto NL-Jumbo has won the fourth stage of the Tour of Britain. In the final sprint, the Dutch champion was faster than British riders Daniel Mclay and Ben Swift.

The fourth stage of the 2016 Tour of Britain was the longest covering 217 kilometers, and one of the most mountainous as the peloton faced 4.133 meters of climbing.

The riders departed from Denbigh and arrived to the finish line at the Royal Welsh Showground. The all-Welsh route included one third category climb, two of the second category and some other ascents leading to the finale.

After more than fifty kilometers of racing, four riders formed an escape group and created a gap of more than four minutes with the peloton. This breakaway was conformed by Alessandro Tonelli (Bardiani-CSF), Robert Partridge (NFTO), Miguel Angel Benito Diez (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Matthew Holmes (Madison Genesis).

With sixty kilometers to go the peloton set a higher pace, reducing the gap with the leaders. But Tonelli refused to give up and attacked from the front group to gain some seconds over his breakaway companions.

A small group with Marco Marcato (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Jochem Hoekstra (Giant-Alpecin), and Giovanni Visconti and Gorka Izaguirre (Movistar) broke away from the peloton, joined the escapees and created a little gap but were eventually reeled in, as was Tonelli.

The high pace set by Team Sky forced Mark Cavendish of Dimension Data to drop from the peloton with about 30 kilometers to go. The effort by Nicholas Roche and Tony Gallopin later led to a split in the peloton.

There were several late attacks by Sebastian Langeveld, Visconti, Jack Bauer and Hoekstra, the latter of which gained some terrain on the pack but the overall pace proved too much for any adventurous move while at the same time serving to further distance the second group including Cavendish.

During the final kilometers Lotto-Soudal tried to control the pace in the group to position Andre Greipel in the final sprint, but soon Sky, Lotto NL-Jumbo and the Great Britain team took charge of the situation.

After the many curves that led to the finish line, Groenewegen and Mclay competed in the final meters with the Dutch champion taking his ninth victory of the season.

The top five of the day was completed by Ben Swift of Team Sky, Carlos Barbero Cuesta of Caja Rural-Seguros RGA and Julien Vermote of Etixx-Quick Step, who keep his first position in the general classification.


Tour of Britain (2.HC)
Stage 4 Denbigh - Builth Wells (2016-09-07)
Pos. Name Team Country Time
1.Dylan GROENEWEGENTLJ 5:28:49
2.Daniel MCLAYGBR +0
5.Julien VERMOTEEQS +0
10.Diego RUBIOCJR +0

View full results
Image: Tour of Britain logo.