Greg van Avermaet victorious in Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal
Sep 12 2016 12:21 am CET

Greg van Avermaet victorious in Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal

Olympic Champion Greg van Avermaet has won the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal. The Belgian won the final sprint ahead of Peter Sagan and Diego Ulissi.

The second of two Canadian WorldTour races, two days after the GP Quebec won by Sagan, offered opportunities for classics specialists with a hilly 205km course in the city of Montreal.

After several unsuccessful breakaways in earlier laps, Lampre-Merida's Rui Costa attacked in the final lap and spent some time ahead of a small chase group including Sagan and Van Avermaet.

The Portuguese rider was caught in the last few kilometers, although the chase group in turn was joined by a much larger group. This set the stage for a large sprint but the fight for the top spots was still decided by those that had been in the former chase group.

A month after his Olympic Road Race victory, Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) once again had the better legs and finished well ahead of Sagan (Tinkoff) and Ulissi (Lampre-Merida). The top five was completed my Michael Matthews and Nathan Haas.

Van Avermaet is the second consecutive Belgian to win the Canadian race following Tim Wellens' victory in 2015. Sagan had already won the race in 2013.


Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal (1.UWT)
Road race Montreal - Montreal (2016-09-11)
Pos. Name Team Country Time
1.Greg VAN AVERMAETBMC 5:27:04
2.Peter SAGANTNK +0
3.Diego ULISSILAM +0
4.Michael MATTHEWSOGE +0
5.Nathan HAASDDD +0
6.Gianni MOSCONSKY +0
7.Alberto BETTIOLCPT +0
9.Anthony ROUXFDJ +0

View full results
Image of Greg Van Avermaet


Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: