Andre Greipel sprints to victory in Mallorcan Trofeo Porreres
Jan 26 2017 11:16 pm CET

Andre Greipel sprints to victory in Mallorcan Trofeo Porreres

German Andre Greipel of Lotto-Soudal has won the first European race of the year by beating Jonas Van Genechten in the final sprint of the Trofeo Porreres.

The Spanish race is the first of a series of races on the island of Mallorca. As a whole, the event is known as the Challenge Mallorca and although there is an unofficial general classification, the races are separate events as far as the UCI is concerned.

Evgeny Shalunov (Gazprom-RusVelo), Pablo Torres (Burgos-BH), Pello Olaberria (Euskadi-Murias) and Kersten Thiele of the German selection escaped early on and built a lead of about three minutes, but a mass sprint was inevitable as Lotto-Soudal carefully controlled the pace throughout the race.

In the sprint, Greipel took the victory ahead of Belgian Van Genechten of Cofidis and Fortuneo-Vital Concept rider Daniel Mclay.

Greipel is known to perform well in these Mallorcan races. Last year he won both the Trofeo Felanitx-Ses Salines-Campos-Porreres (as the event is officially known) and the Trofeo Playa de Palma.

Photo of Andre Greipel (cropped) by Lotto-Soudal