Daniel McLay beats Pelucchi and Bouhanni in Trofeo Palma
Jan 29 2017 09:49 pm CET

Daniel McLay beats Pelucchi and Bouhanni in Trofeo Palma

Briton Daniel McLay has won the Trofeo Palma. The Fortuneo-Vital Concept rider won the bunch sprint ahead of Matteo Pelucchi and Nacer Bouhanni.

The final of the four events that together form the Challenge Mallorca featured an escape group of five with Julio Alberto Amores (Inteja Dominican), Gaspar Mas (Nice), Danilo Celano and Uri Martins (Amore & Vita – Selle SMP) and Euskadi-Murias rider Pello Olaberria who had already been in breakaways in two of the three previous races.

Once the front group was caught, Vuelta a España champion Nairo Quintana attacked and even created a lead of about a minute and a half. The Colombian was later joined by teammate Alejandro Valverde and Jurgen Roelandts but the help came too late as the three failed to stay ahead of the pack.

The final sprint was close and a finish photo was required to determine that McLay had indeed crossed the line ahead of Pelucchi of Bora-hansgrohe and Cofidis star Nacer Bouhanni. Andre Greipel and Raymond Kreder completed the top five.

The 25-year-old McLay had already finished third in the Trofeo Felanitx-Ses Salines-Campos-Porreres on Thursday.

Photo of Daniel McLay (cropped) by Fortuneo - Vital Concept