Bryan Coquard powers to victory in Ruta del Sol
Feb 18 2017 04:31 pm CET

Bryan Coquard powers to victory in Ruta del Sol

Bryan Coquard of Direct Energie has won the fourth stage of the Ruta del Sol. The Frenchman crossed the line ahead of FDJ's Daniel Hoelgaard.

The fourth stage consisted of a 179.3km route from La Campana to the region's capital of Sevilla. Although some climbs were included, the last 60 kilometers were mostly flat and more than suitable for a mass sprint.

Martijn Budding (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij), Jerome Cousin (Cofidis), Martijn Keizer (LottoNL-Jumbo), Lukasz Owsian (CCC Sprandi Polkowice), Diego Rubio (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Jens Wallays (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) formed the breakaway of the day.

The six never got a particularly comfortable advantage however as the peloton limited the gap to less than three minutes before slowly increasing the pace to keep the escapees in sight.

At ten kilometers from the finish, the gap was down to just 30 seconds and the bunch did enough to catch the breakaway with a few kilometers to go.

In the final sprint, Direct Energie's Bryan Coquard surpassed FDJ's Daniel Hoelgaard just in time to take the victory ahead of the Norwegian.

Race leader Alejandro Valverde and second-placed Alberto Contador both finished safely and as such maintain their one-second gap with just one stage to go in the Spanish 2.HC race.


Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol (2.HC)
Stage 4 La Campana - Seville (2017-02-18)
Pos. Name Team Country Time
1.Bryan COQUARDDEN 4:10:33
3.Hugo HofstetterCOF +0
4.Moreno HOFLANDLTS +0
5.Raymond KREDERRNL +0
6.Mihkel RÄIMICA +0
7.Roman MAIKINGAZ +0
9.Rigoberto URAN URANCDT +0

View full results
Photo of Bryan Coquard by Direct Energie


Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: