Michal Kwiatkowski beats Peter Sagan at Milano-Sanremo
Mar 19 2017 12:24 am CET

Michal Kwiatkowski beats Peter Sagan at Milano-Sanremo

Former world champion Michal Kwiatkowski of Team Sky has won the 2017 edition of Milano-Sanremo. Peter Sagan finished second ahead of Julian Alaphilippe.

Mattia Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli), Alan Marangoni (Nippo-Vini Fantini), Mirco Maestri (Bardiani CSF), Toms Skujins and William Clarke (Cannondale), Ivan Rovny (Gazprom-Rusvelo), Umberto Poli (Novo Nordisk), Julen Amezqueta Moreno (Wilier-Selle Italia), Nico Denz (AG2R La Mondiale) and Federico Zurlo (UAE Team Emirates) jumped away right after the start of the race and created an advantage of more than four minutes within the first 12 kilometers.

The peloton made clear that it wasn't going to make a big effort early on as it realized that at 298 kilometers, Milano-Sanremo is the longest race of the modern cycling season.

The gap did slowly decrease however and was down to about 1'30" with 50 kilometers to go, making it look unlikely that the lead group would make it all the way to the finish.

Things were eventually neutralized on the Cipressa climb and although several contenders for the victory tried to make their move shortly after, the reduced peloton remained together as it reached the summit of the day's penultimate ascent.

Tom Dumoulin was determined to shake off some of the top sprinters as the Sunweb rider set a high pace on the Poggio, the last climb of the day. The moment the Dutchman gave up, it was Peter Sagan's turn to attack.

The Slovak was followed by Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) and Kwiatkowski and the three quickly created a significant gap with the rest of the peloton.

The bunch lacked the organization to close the gap and instead allowed it to grow to up to 18 seconds as the front trio decided to work together despite possible team interests in the peloton.

As the favorite to win, Sagan himself initiated the final sprint in Sanremo. The Bora-hansgrohe rider failed to drop his rivals however and instead had the lower top speed of the three. Kwiatkowski took advantage and crossed the finish line ahead of Sagan to take the victory in this year's edition of 'La Classicissima'.

Alaphilippe came close as well but eventually had to settle for third place. Seconds later, Alexander Kristoff of Katusha-Alpecin won the sprint for fourth place.

With this victory, Kwiatkowski is the first Polish rider and the first Team Sky member to win the Italian monument.

Photo of Michal Kwiatkowski by Team Sky




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: