David de la Cruz wins third stage in Pais Vasco
Apr 05 2017 05:30 pm CET

David de la Cruz wins third stage in Pais Vasco

David de la Cruz of Quick-Step Floors has won the third stage of the Vuelta al Pais Vasco. The Spaniard finished seconds ahead of the pack after attacking on the last climb of the day.

The third of six stages formed an opportunity for general classification riders to start testing their climbing shape after the relatively easy first two stages.

A breakaway formed early on with nine riders trying their luck: Alessandro de Marchi (BMC Racing Team), Stephane Rossetto (Cofidis), Matteo Montaguti (AG2R La Mondiale), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Sergio Pardilla (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), Arnaud Courteille (FDJ), Antonio Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), Alex Howes (Cannondale-Drapac) and Eros Capecchi (Quick-Step Floors).

The nine remained ahead for most of the stage but were eventually reduced to four and then two, with only De Marchi and Fuglsang left in the front when they were reeled in by the peloton.

At this point Julian Alaphilippe had already been involved in a crash. The Frenchman of Quick-Step got back on his bike without visible injury, but did lose a significant amount of time in respect to the pack.

Both Alejandro Valverde of Movistar and Orica-Scott's Simon Yates suffered mechanical trouble at around 20 kilometers from the finish. Valverde soon found his way back into the group but Yates had more difficulty reducing the gap.

Although the stage included tougher climbs early on, the real action took place on the third-category Puerto de Mendizorrotz of which the summit was located at around ten kilometers from the finish. David de la Cruz of Quick-Step attacked and quickly created a gap with the rest of the peloton.

The pack then split with race leader Michael Matthews of Sunweb in the rear group and speedily losing time in respect to those in the first chasing group.

The first chase group appeared to be catching De la Cruz but the Spaniard did very well to stay ahead on the climb and the following descent to the city of San Sebastian. Although the gap was down to just three seconds at the finish, it was enough for the Quick-Step rider to secure an impressive victory.

Michael Kwiatkowski of Team Sky won the sprint for second place ahead of Bora-hansgrohe's Jay McCarthy.

As a result of his win, De la Cruz is also the new overall leader at the expense of Matthews.


Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco (2.UWT)
Stage 3 Vitoria-Gasteiz - San Sebastián (2017-04-05)
Pos. Name Team Country Time
5.Giovanni VISCONTITBM +3
7.Diego ULISSIUAD +3
8.Patrick KONRADBOH +3
10.Warren BARGUILSUN +3

View full results
Photo of David de la Cruz (cropped) by Etixx-Quick Step


Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: