Victory for Greg Van Avermaet in Paris-Roubaix
Apr 09 2017 11:15 pm CET

Victory for Greg Van Avermaet in Paris-Roubaix

Greg van Avermaet has taken the victory at Paris-Roubaix. The rider of BMC Racing Team was the fastest in the final five-men sprint at the velodrome of Roubaix.

The iconic race started in an unusual way with a lack of any escape group until shortly before the first cobbled section. Mickael Delage (FDJ), Jelle Wallays (Lotto-Soudal) and Yannick Martinez (Delko Marseille Provence KTM) managed to create a gap of almost a minute with the peloton.

After the first cobbles, Martinez dropped from the front and was later replaced by Stijn Vandenbergh (AG2R-La Mondiale). After the Forest of Arenberg, Wallays rode in front and was later joined by Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie), but kilometers later both were caught by a fast peloton.

Behind them several riders suffered crashes and punctures including Greg Van Avermaet (BCM), Ian Stannard (Team Sky), Iljo Keisse (Quick-Step Floors) and Alexander Kristoff (Katusha-Alpecin). All of them managed to find their way back to the peloton.

Around the 70 kilometer mark Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) made a move with his teammate Maciej Bodnar and managed to position himself at the front of the race along with Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) and Daniel Oss (BMC). But some meters later the world champion punctured after which both he and his teammate were caught by the peloton.

The duo rode on together until 45 kilometers from the finish line, when a trio conformed by Jurgen Roelands (Lotto-Soudal), Dimitri Claeys (Cofidis) and Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) jumped from the main bunch to join them in front.

Some kilometers later they were joined by the group of the favorites that included Tom Boonen (Quick-Step Floors), Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott), Sebastian Langeveld and van Baarle (Cannondale-Drapac), Sagan, van Avermaet and John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo).

Soon after that Oss showed that he still had the legs to escape and went away solo getting a gap of more than 30 seconds. Behind him the peloton split and Van Avermaet, Stybar, Langeveld, Roelandts, Stuyven and Moscon went to the chase for the Italian rider.

He was eventually caught and the seven pulled faster in the front trying to leave behind a group with stronger men like Boonen, Degenkolb, Naesen and Sagan. After the last cobbled section of five stars, the most difficult level, only Langeveld, Van Avermaet and Stybar remained in the lead.

The trio entered the velodrome and slowed down to see who launched the sprint first until they were caught by Moscon and Stuyven. Moscon was the first to accelerate, followed by a very strong Stybar.

The former cyclo-cross rider had a small advantage over Van Avermaet, but the Belgian made a last big effort and surpassed him at the last moment.

This is the first monument for the Gold medalist of the Olympic games of Rio de Janeiro and comes in a season in which he has also taken the victory in Gent-Wevelgem, the E3 Harelbeke and the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

Photo of Greg Van Avermaet by Mary Cárdenas /



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: