Another victory for Alejandro Valverde in La Fleche Wallonne
Apr 19 2017 11:44 pm CET

Another victory for Alejandro Valverde in La Fleche Wallonne

Movistar's Alejandro Valverde has taken the victory at La Fleche Wallonne. The Spaniard got his fifth win at the Belgian race ahead of Dan Martin (Quick-Step Floors) and Dylan Teuns (BMC).

The 81st edition of La Fleche Wallonne was 204.5 kilometers long between the cities of Binche and Huy, a course that was completed by Valverde in 5 hours, 15 minutes and 37 seconds.

The escape of the day was conformed by Olivier Pardini (WB-Veranclassic Aquality Protect), Yoann Bagot (Cofidis) and Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin). After 37 kilometers, the trio was joined by Romain Guillemois (Direct Energie) and Daniel Pearson (Aqua Blue Sport).

The escapees were caught at 30 kilometers from the finish line and on the way to the last ascent of the Mur de Huy, Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors) and Alessandro De Marchi (BMC) tried their luck but were caught a few kilometers later.

Even if the attack of Valverde was expected at the Mur, once again nobody could hold him back or respond. The Spaniard crossed the finish line ahead of Martin, Teuns, Sergio Henao (Team Sky) and Michael Albasini (Orica-Scott).

This is the fourth consecutive victory at the race for Valverde and the fifth in total.
Photo of Alejandro Valverde (cropped) by Movistar Team



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: