Live Commentary: Tour de Suisse Stage 9
Jun 18 2017 01:26 pm CET

Live Commentary: Tour de Suisse Stage 9
Live Commentary: Tour de Suisse Stage 9


Welcome to CyclingPub's live coverage of the 9th and last stage of the 2017 Tour de Suisse, a 28.6km time trial in the town of Schaffhausen.

After yesterday's local circuit in Schaffhausen, the riders return to the town once again for the final battle of this year's edition of the Swiss race. Simon Spilak of Katusha-Alpecin defends a 52-second lead over BMC Racing Team's Damiano Caruso. Steven Kruijswijk is third at 1'05" and will likely focus on the fight for second place.

The course includes two intermediate checkpoints, one after nine kilometers and the second after 22.9 kilometers. The riders will face one climb of about 2.5 kilometers, of which the summit lies at about six kilometers from the finish.


Updates every 60 seconds. All times CET.

Thank you for joining us today and we hope to see you again for the Tour de France in less than two weeks from now! For now, we leave you with the race report of today's time trial, right here!


The top 10 of the final overall classification:


It's all smiles for Rohan Dennis!


The time trial top 10:


Katusha-Alpecin get to start their celebrations! Simon Spilak crosses the finish line at 51 seconds from Dennis and easily defends his first place to take his second overall victory in the Tour de Suisse!!


Rohan Dennis is laughing and talking on the hot seat. He knows that this one is in the bag!


Caruso takes second place in the overall standings! The Italian sets the 3rd time at 46 seconds from his BMC teammate Dennis.


Kruijswijk arrives at the finish and sets the fourth time at 53 seconds from Dennis. If Caruso clocks a time of 1'06" or less, he secures second place.


Spilak sets the fifth time at checkpoint 2, 45 seconds slower than Dennis. The Slovenian should be good for the overall victory.


At the second intermediate check, Caruso is 48 seconds slower than Dennis and five seconds slower than Kruijswijk. Reminder: The margin between Caruso and Kruijswijk is 13 seconds.


Kruijswijk reaches the second checkpoint at 43 seconds from Dennis. That's the fourth place so far for the Dutchman.


Soler got to enjoy third place for a few minutes but his compatriot Izagirre bumps him down now! The Bahrain-Merida rider is 51 seconds slower than Dennis.


Movistar's Marc Soler now takes third place at the finish, 58 seconds behind Dennis. Van Garderen moves down to fourth so the BMC podium is no longer.


Third best time for Izagirre at checkpoint 2: 40 seconds behind Rohan Dennis.


Impressive by Spilak! The race leader is just seven seconds slower than Dennis at the first time check! Things are looking good for him.


In the battle for second place, Kruijswijk strikes first! Caruso is five seconds slower than the Dutchman at the first checkpoint.


Kruijswijk sets the 5th time at the first checkpoint at 15 seconds from Dennis.


Decent time by Domenico Pozzovivo at the first time check, 14 seconds slower than Dennis. Fourth place.


The last man is now on the road! Will Simon Spilak repeat his overall victory of 2015?


Very decent time for Ion Izagirre at checkpoint 1. The Spaniard is just 16 seconds slower than Rohan Dennis.


Damiano Caruso, second in the overall standings, hits the road. The top spot may be too much to ask for the Italian so the defense of his second place might be his main target.


At the finish, Van Garderen consolidated his third place from the second checkpoint, finishing at 1'02" from Dennis. It's all BMC in the top three now.


Steven Kruijswijk starts! And in the mean time, Movistar's Victor de la Parte has set the fourth time at the first checkpoints: 20 seconds slower than Dennis.


The main battle as we approach the last phase of this Tour de Suisse might be the one for second place. Damiano Caruso currently occupies it but Steven Kruijswijk is just 13 seconds behind in the standings.


Van Garderen was 5th at the first check and now 3rd at the second check, at 59 seconds from Dennis. With Kung in the middle, the whole top three at the second checkpoint is BMC!


Suggestions or questions? Do feel free to let us know what you think about our new live commentary feature! Use either the commenting feature below or tweet us at @cyclingpub.


The first riders of the top 10 have already hit the road. Reminder of the top three's start times: Steven Kruijswijk at 16:49, Damiano Caruso at 16:51 and Simon Spilak at 16:53.


Tejay Van Garderen sets the fifth time at the first checkpoint at 27 seconds from BMC teammate Dennis.


The other riders in the top five of the current stage standings prove that Dennis lost a bit of time in the last section of the course. If anyone wants to beat the Australian, they will have to limit the damage in the first two sections and then strike in the third.


Kung moves into second place just seconds after Sylvain Chavanel did so! The Swiss rider was 29 seconds slower than his teammate Dennis. Chavanel now third at 1'10".


Kung trails Dennis by 39 seconds at the second time check and is well on course for the second place in the provisional standings. In the mean time, Nikias Arndt and Michael Matthews of Sunweb have moved into second and third place at the finish.


Sky rider Salvatore Puccio currently holds the second-best time at the finish, at 1'29" from Dennis. Not bad at all by the Italian but Dennis appears to be at another level.


Rohan Dennis is getting used to this!


Stefan Kung, second in the prologue, is now nine seconds slower than Dennis at the first time check. Are we looking at another BMC double today?


QuickStep's Yves Lampaert moves into second place in the standings, at 1'44" from Dennis. None of the riders currently on the road seem to form a threat to the Australian.


Impressively, Rohan Dennis beat Ryan Mullen's time at the finish by 1'59". Amazing performance by the BMC rider who already won the prologue of this race.


Mullen still holds the best time at the finish; six seconds faster than Magnus Cort Nielsen and 46 seconds faster than Bagdonas, who lost a lot of time in the last two sections of the course.


Rohan Dennis currently holds the best time at the first checkpoint. The Australian was 36 seconds faster than Ryan Mullen and Gediminas Bagdonas.


Ryan Mullen, 8th in the prologue, has set the best time so far at the first checkpoint (9km). The Irishman was eight seconds faster than Magnus Cort Nielsen.


This is the profile of the closing time trial.


The final time trial starts at 14:20 local time. You can find the Starting Order for today's time trial right here.

Image: Tour de Suisse logo


Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: