Edvald Boasson Hagen wins 19th stage of Tour de France
Jul 21 2017 11:45 pm CET

Edvald Boasson Hagen wins 19th stage of Tour de France
Edvald Boasson Hagen wins 19th stage of Tour de France
Photo of Edvald Boasson Hagen by Dimension Data/Nick Muzik

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) has won the 19th stage of the Tour de France. The Norwegian crossed the finish line solo after an attack in the last kilometres.

The longest stage of the 2017 Tour de France was 222.5 kilometres long between Embrun and Salon-de-Provence.

The hilly stage started with some attempts of a breakaway that were neutralised during the first climb of the day. Just before the second climb, 20 riders managed to break free and created a gap with the pack.

This group included riders like Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), Jan Bakelants (AG2R La Mondiale), Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data), Thomas de Gendt and Tony Gallopin (Lotto-Soudal), and was at times around 10 minutes ahead of the peloton.

Behind them, Team Sky made sure to control the speed of the pack to let the escapees stay ahead and avoid any bunch sprints that could put race leader Chris Froome at risk. At the front, there were several attacks but the only one to succeed happened at around 20 kilometres from the finish.

Bakelants, Boasson Hagen, De Gendt, Daniele Bennati (Movistar), Nikias Arndt (Sunweb), Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie), Elie Gesbert (Fortuneo-Oscaro), Michael Albasini and Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott) went ahead and kept attacking each other, but all of those attempts were neutralised.

With around 2 kilometers to go, Boasson Hagen and Ardnt took the lead after picking the better side of a roundabout, and the Norwegian showed to be the strongest of the two and went ahead on his own. The rest of the escapees were unable to catch him, and he crossed the finish line by himself.

This is the first win for Boasson Hagen in the Tour de France since 2011. Arndt, Keukeleire, Bennati and De Gendt complete the top five of the day.

The General Classification standings remain the same, with Chris Froome in the lead followed by Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) and Rigoberto Uran (Cannodale-Drapac).



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: