Vuelta a Burgos - Miguel Angel Lopez wins stage, Mikel Landa takes overall victory
Aug 05 2017 10:36 pm CET

Vuelta a Burgos - Miguel Angel Lopez wins stage, Mikel Landa takes overall victory

Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) has won the last stage at the Vuelta a Burgos. Mikel Landa (Sky) has taken the overall victory at the race.

The last stage of the Spanish race was 136 kilometres between Comunero de Revenga and Lagunas de Neila. The day featured three third category climbs and a hors-category ascent leading up to the finish.

After many attempts, the escape group was formed early in the race. Fourteen riders managed to break free, including Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors), Larry Warbasse (Aqua Blue Sport), Tao Geoghegan Hart (Sky), Jose Herrada (Movistar), and Ben King (Dimension Data), and they formed a gap of almost two minutes with the peloton.

Just ahead of the last climb of the day, Pablo Torres (Burgos BH), Pello Bilbao (Astana), Romain Sicard (Direct Energie) and Delio Fernandez (Delko Marseille Provence KTM) attacked from the front group and left the others to be caught by a very motivated peloton pulled by Sky. Later on Alaphillipe and Geoghegan Hart rejoined them at the front.

At almost six kilometres from the finish line, David de la Cruz attempted an attack and bridged to the front group, but was soon caught back by the peloton. The only remaining escapee in the lead was Geoghegan Hart, but he too was caught moments later.

With two kilometres to go, leader Mikel Landa (Sky) attacked and was followed by Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana). In the last 200 meters, the Colombian attacked and quickly got a gap with the others to reach the finish line by himself. Mas crossed second and Landa third.

Landa's gap in the General Classification was big enough to give him the overall win and Mas' second place in the stage took him to the same position in the overall standings. De la Cruz fell to third position on the final podium.
Photo of Miguel Angel Lopez (cropped) by Astana.