Miguel Angel Lopez takes victory at stage eleven of Vuelta a España
Aug 30 2017 11:42 pm CET

Miguel Angel Lopez takes victory at stage eleven of Vuelta a España
Miguel Angel Lopez takes victory at stage eleven of Vuelta a España
Photo of Miguel Angel Lopez © Mary Cárdenas / CyclingPub.com

Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) has won the eleventh stage of the Vuelta a España. The Colombian attacked in the last two kilometres and crossed the finish line ahead of Chris Froome and Vincenzo Nibali.

The eleventh stage of the Spanish Grand Tour was 187.5 kilometres long between Lorca and the Observatorio Astronomico de Calar Alto. It was once again a rainy day that featured two first category climbs.

The peloton rode together for 50 kilometres and then the breakaway of the day was formed. A group of 14 riders including Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors), Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale), Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates), Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain-Merida) and Antwan Tolhoek (LottoNL-Jumbo) managed to create a gap of more than four minutes with the peloton.

The first climb of the day and attacks like the one of Bardet, broke the front group and the only ones who could keep with the Frenchman's pace were Visconti, Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates) and Lotto-Soudal's Sander Armee. Simon Yates (Orica-Scott) escaped from the peloton and eventually joined the men of the front group.

During the descent, Visconti and Armee were more conservative, getting dropped by the other three riders who continued together reaching the last ascent. Behind them, the pack didn't make a move to try to catch the escapees and instead waited to do so until the final climb.

At the climb of the Calar Alto, Atapuma raised the pace and only Bardet could keep up. Behind them, the first to make a move in the group of favorites was Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) who was closely followed by Alberto Contador and caused a change of pace that dropped favourites like Esteban Chaves and Adam Yates (Orica-Scott). Moments before, David de la Cruz (Quick-Step Floors) was dropped as well due to a puncture.

At around seven kilometres from the end, the escapees were caught by the group of Nibali, Contador, Chris Froome (Team Sky), Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana), Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin), and Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb).

With two kilometres to go, Nibali attacked and the others continued at a steady pace to catch him. He was indeed caught and soon it was Lopez' turn to attack, being followed only by Froome and Nibali.

The Colombian went ahead and Froome and Nibali didn't chase him as he represented no danger for the General Classification, taking the victory at the top of the climb. Froome crossed second, Nibali third, Kelderman fourth and Bardet in fifth position.

Froome remains at the top of the General Classification, Nibali climbs to second and Chaves drops to third place. The top five is now completed by De la Cruz and Kelderman.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: