Vuelta a España - Second stage victory for Miguel Angel Lopez, Chris Froome maintains lead
Sep 03 2017 11:24 pm CET

Vuelta a España - Second stage victory for Miguel Angel Lopez, Chris Froome maintains lead
Vuelta a España - Second stage victory for Miguel Angel Lopez, Chris Froome maintains lead
Photo of Miguel Angel Lopez © Mary Cárdenas /

Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) has taken the victory at the 15th stage of the Vuelta a España. The rider took his second win in the race by crossing the finish line on his own after an attack in the last kilometres.

The second of two difficult mountain stages was 129.4 kilometres long between Alcala la Real and Sierra Nevada. The stage featured two climbs of the first category and one hors-category ascent with a steep finish.

The breakaway of the day was formed after around forty kilometres of racing. Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo), Matteo Trentin (Quick Step), Nelson Oliveira (Movistar), Tom Van Asbroeck (Cannoondale-Drapac), Sander Armée (Lotto-Soudal), Anthony Perez, Stéphane Rossetto (Cofidis) and Lluis Mas (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), got an advantage of more than two minutes over the pack.

Behind them, the peloton was pulled by teams like Bahrain-Merida, Trek-Segafredo and Astana.

During the first climb of the day Armée got away from his companions, crossed the summit first and rode downhill on his own. Behind him, the rest of his companions were caught and dropped by a chasing group formed by Steven Kruisjwijk (LottoNL-Jumbo), Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) and Adam Yates (Orica-Scott). Oliveira and Rossetto did try to hold on but were dropped on the next climb.

At the climb to the Alto del Purche, Armee was reeled back in by the chasers. Meanwhile, Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) attacked from the peloton and was joined by Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana). Back in front, Yates attacked his companions to go solo.

The duo of Contador and Lopez was joined by Kruijswijk and Bardet. Behind, Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) attacked during the last climb of the day but was reeled back in by the steady pace of Team Sky in the favourites' group.

With six kilometres to go, Lopez changed the pace and left all the other chasers behind. Two kilometres later he joined Yates in the front and even though the Briton tried to stay at his wheel, the Colombian was much stronger and dropped him moments later.

In the reduced pack, Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin) attacked close to the flamme rouge and managed to create a gap with the rest. Lopez arrived to the finish line by himself, taking his second victory in the race, and was followed by Zakarin, Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb) and Chris Froome (Team Sky).

Froome keeps leading the overall classification ahead of Nibali and Zakarin, who moves into third place at the expense of Kelderman.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: