Peter Sagan wins Grand Prix de Quebec
Sep 08 2017 10:09 pm CET

Peter Sagan wins Grand Prix de Quebec
Peter Sagan wins Grand Prix de Quebec
Photo of Peter Sagan by the A.S.O.

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) has won the Grand Prix de Quebec. The World Champion got the victory at the final sprint for the second consecutive year.

The Grand Prix de Quebec was 201.6 kilometres long, divided into 16 laps of 12.6 kilometres each in the streets of Quebec City.

The day started with a escape of four men. Pier-Andre Coté (Canada), Tyler Williams (Israel Cycling Academy), Tosh Van der Sande (Lotto-Soudal) and Baptiste Planckaert (Katusha-Alpecin) managed to create a gap of more than nine minutes with the peloton.

With five laps to go, Coté was dropped on one of the climbs and the other three continued their pace. Two laps later, Williams was next to be dropped and the two Belgians continued together for some more kilometres.

With around 20 kilometres to go, Planckaert accelerated and Van Der Sande couldn't follow, reducing the speed to wait for the peloton. Not much later, the Lotto-Soudal rider was also reeled back in by the pack.

Several riders attempted attacks in the next kilometres including Sean de Bie (Lotto-Soudal) and Kenny Elissonde (Team Sky) but all attempts were neutralized by the peloton. With three kilometres to go, Roman Kreuziger (Orica-Scott) attacked from the pack but was soon caught by a very fast bunch led by Bora-hansgrohe.

Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) was the last rider to attack but the Colombian couldn't get away either. Moments later, Peter Sagan launched a very strong attack that could not be matched by any of the contenders. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) and Michael Matthews (Sunweb) were second and third, respectively.


Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: