Team Sky completes 2018 squad with Leonardo Basso
Dec 05 2017 09:31 pm CET

Team Sky completes 2018 squad with Leonardo Basso
Team Sky completes 2018 squad with Leonardo Basso
Team Sky logo

Team Sky has announced the signing of young talent Leonardo Basso. The Italian will turn professional at the British squad.

The 23-year-old rider, who is not related to Ivan Basso, signed for Trek-Segafredo as a stagiaire in 2015 and will join his new teammates at the December training camp of Mallorca, Spain.

"It’s a dream come true to be joining Team Sky. My main objective is to help the team wherever I can," said Basso. "I want to learn about the job and what it means to be a pro bike rider. I want to learn as much as I can from my team-mates and increase my level day by day.

"From watching the team you can see they have a clear focus, they pay attention to equipment and the details that go into cycling. It’s impressive to see the innovation and to now be a part of that."

Sport Director Dario Cioni commented that the team expects the rider to grow and discover his potential with them. "We’re happy to see Leonardo turn pro with us next year," he commented. "He’s got potential and we want to see where we can get to working together. He’s not a true sprinter but he can survive the punchy climbs and he has the speed to sprint from smaller groups. We’ve seen him pick up some results there in the last few years.

"He’s another good addition to the group of young guys who are developing within the team."

The signing of Basso completes a squad of 30 riders for the 2018 season. Eight riders will make their debut with the team including experienced ones like David de la Cruz, Jonathan Castroviejo and Dylan van Baarle, as well as new talents like Egan Bernal, Kristoffer Halvorsen, Chris Lawless and Pavel Sivakov.

Team Sky 2018 complete squad:

Leonardo Basso
Egan Bernal
Jonathan Castroviejo
David de la Cruz
Philip Deignan
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Kenny Elissonde
Chris Froome
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Michal Golas
Kristoffer Halvorsen
Sebastian Henao
Sergio Henao
Benat Intxausti
Vasil Kiryienka
Christian Knees
Michal Kwiatkowski
Chris Lawless
David Lopez
Gianni Moscon
Wout Poels
Salvatore Puccio
Diego Rosa
Luke Rowe
Pavel Sivakov
Ian Stannard
Geraint Thomas
Dylan van Baarle
Lukasz Wisniowski




Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: