2018 Vuelta a España features nine summit finishes
Jan 13 2018 02:22 pm CET

2018 Vuelta a España features nine summit finishes
2018 Vuelta a España features nine summit finishes
La Vuelta logo

The route of 2018 Vuelta a España has been unveiled in Estepona, Andalucia, Spain. The race will depart from Malaga and have its usual finish in Madrid.

The third grand tour of the year will take place between the 25th of August and the 16th of September. The departure will be at the Pompidou Centre of Malaga, a city that has been part of the race 30 times.

The 73th edition of the race will have two individual time trials, six solely flat stages and two with an uphill finish after a flat run-up, six medium mountain stages, five pure climbing days and two rest days. In total, the riders will face nine summit finishes.

The opening time trial will be 8 kilometres long in Malaga and the race will stay in Andalucia for the first week, passing through places like Granada, Almeria and Jaen. The peloton will then briefly go through Murcia to head north to Castilla-La Mancha, Castilla y Leon, Galicia, Asturias and Cantabria, where the second time trial of 30 kilometres will take place

The route continues to the Basque Country, Aragon, Catalonia and Andorra, for the two last decisive climbing stages. The race finishes on the traditional circuit in the Spanish capital, Madrid.



Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: