Dylan Groenewegen wins again in Volta ao Algarve
Feb 18 2018 12:51 am CET

Dylan Groenewegen wins again in Volta ao Algarve
Dylan Groenewegen wins again in Volta ao Algarve
Photo of Dylan Groenewegen by LottoNL-Jumbo

Dylan Groenewegen of LottoNL-Jumbo has won the fourth stage of the Volta ao Algarve. The Dutchman beat Matteo Pelucchi and John Degenkolb in the anticipated mass sprint.

The stage was almost 200 kilometers long, starting in Almodovar and finishing in the town of Tavira. The route included two climbs of the fourth category but was always likely to result in a bunch sprint.

In the previous years, top sprinters like Marcel Kittel and Andre Greipel lifted the flowers at this finishing location. In addition, the last five stage finishes in Tavira saw German riders take the victory, raising the expectations for riders from that country.

Benjamin King (Team Dimension Data), Rory Sutherland (UAE Team Emirates), Julen Amezqueta (Caja Rural), Bruno Silva (Efapel), Aleksandr Grigorev (Sporting-Tavira) and João Rodrigues (W52-FC Porto) formed the day's breakaway and built an advantage of just over four minutes.

The lead had gone below the one-minute mark at 25 kilometers, and the group lost a man some minutes later as Silva failed to keep up on a climb.

Some of the riders in the peloton were determined to avoid a mass sprint, with Dylan Teuns (BMC), Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step) and Guillaume Bonnafond (Cofidis) attacking at 20 kilometers from the finish. Movistar's Jasha Sutterlin joined shortly after.

The chase group caught the five men in front with nine kilometers to go, although Bonnafond had to let go just before the two groups connected, leaving eight riders in the lead. At this point, the gap with the peloton was just 15 seconds.

This gap proved to be too small and despite their effort to stay ahead, the leaders were caught at less than three kilometers from the end, as the trains had already been formed for the final sprint.

Groenewegen arrived to the last meters with two of his LottoNL-Jumbo teammates, and launched his sprint at the right time to beat the opposition with relative ease. As such, the Dutchman took his second win in this race after already having won the opening stage. Pelucchi of Bora-hansgrohe took second ahead of Trek-Segafredo's Degenkolb.

Team Sky's Geraint Thomas finished in the bunch and maintains his overall lead ahead of the final stage.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: