Powerful sprint gives Dylan Groenewegen the victory at Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne
Feb 25 2018 11:56 pm CET

Powerful sprint gives Dylan Groenewegen the victory at Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne
Powerful sprint gives Dylan Groenewegen the victory at Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne
Photo of Dylan Groenewegen by LottoNL-Jumbo

LottoNL-Jumbo's Dylan Groenewegen once again showed his good shape by winning Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne. The race came to a bunch sprint and the Dutchman was significantly stronger than his rivals.

The race was 201 kilometres long with departure and arrival in Kuurne. The day was cold and the route had some frozen sections that made everything dangerous and challenging for the competitors.

Seven riders managed to escape early and took an advantage of more than two minutes. Truls Korsaeth (Astana), Gediminas Bagdonas (AG2R), Matteo Bono (UAE), Piet Allegaert (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Kenneth Vanbilsen (Cofidis), Romain Cardis (Direct Energie) and Benjamin Perry (Israel Cycling Academy) were dropped one by one until the last man standing was caught with 80 kilometres to go.

Some kilometres later, a group of around 20 took the lead and included names like Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo), Jelle Wallays (Lotto Soudal), Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin), Daniel Oss (Bora-hansgrohe), Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC).

Along the way, riders like Boy Van Poppel (Trek-Segafredo) and Sacha Modolo (EF Education First-Drapac) crashed out of the race.

At around 30 kilometres from the finish, Stuyven and Oss attacked from the front group and got an advantage, but the Italian had the bad luck of suffering a puncture and left the Belgian riding solo, only to be caught at the 20-kilometre mark.

Six kilometres later, Quick-Step Floors' Niki Terpstra tried to launch an attack and was followed by others but the attempt was not successful. The next kilometres saw an attempt by Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) which was soon repelled and was followed by one of Julien Duval (AG2R La Mondiale), Julien Vermote (Dimension Data) and Loic Vliegen (BMC), which was neutralised in the last kilometre.

The reduced peloton faced a bunch sprint in which Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) showed to be the stronger man by crossing the finish line ahead of Arnaud Demare (AG2R La Mondiale) with enough space to celebrate with anticipation. Bahrain-Merida's Sonny Colbrelli stepped on the last spot of the podium.

This year, Groenewegen had already taken victories at one stage of the Dubai Tour and two of the Volta ao Algarve.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: