Adam Yates wins in a tribute stage to Michele Scarponi in Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 11 2018 10:59 pm CET

Adam Yates wins in a tribute stage to Michele Scarponi in Tirreno-Adriatico
Adam Yates wins in a tribute stage to Michele Scarponi in Tirreno-Adriatico

Mitchelton-Scott's Adam Yates has won the fifth stage of Tirreno-Adriatico. On a tribute day for Michele Scarponi, the Briton crossed the finish line on his own after an attack on the last climb.

The stage of the "Muri" or "the walls" was 178 kilometres long between Castelraimondo and Filottrano, the town of the late Michele Scarponi. The entire route, and particularly the final, was a tribute to the Italian rider who was killed by a car while training in April of 2017.

Dario Cataldo (Astana), Iljo Keisse (Quick-Step Floors), Kristijan Koren (Bahrain-Merida) and Steve Morabito (Groupama-FDJ) formed the breakaway of the day and created a gap of more than six minutes with the peloton. The pack was mostly led by BMC Racing Team, which was working hard to protect the leader's jersey of Damiano Caruso.

The riders went through several climbs, most of which had banners and decorations in honour of Scarponi. These climbs also showed difficulty for the men in the front group, who dropped one by one until Cataldo was the only one left.

With eleven kilometres remaining, Cataldo was caught by a peloton led by Team Sky. The last climb of the day stretched the bunch as everybody struggled with the ramps. The first rider to try his luck was Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and he created a gap with the rest.

Behind him, the group of favourites remained together and at a good pace. At a bit more than one kilometre from the finish, Astana's Alexey Lutsenko attacked from the group and nobody followed him.

The last meters until the finish line were decorated with pictures of Scarponi and the colours of Astana, the last team he rode for. There, Yates arrived on his own and crossed the finish line some seconds ahead of the rest.

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) was second on the stage and Kwiatkowski came in third. With the bonification seconds of the third position, the rider of Sky jumps to the lead of the General Classification.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: