Poggio attack gives Vincenzo Nibali the victory at Milano-Sanremo
Mar 17 2018 06:33 pm CET

Poggio attack gives Vincenzo Nibali the victory at Milano-Sanremo
Poggio attack gives Vincenzo Nibali the victory at Milano-Sanremo
Photo of Vincenzo Nibali by Jonathan Roorda / CyclingPub.com

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) has won Milano-Sanremo. The Italian launched an attack on the last ascent of the race and could maintain the advantage until the end.

"La Primavera" was 294 kilometres long and as predicted, the riders faced both rain and sunshine. The race started with an escape group of nine that included riders like Matteo Bono (Bahrein-Merida), Jacopo Mosca (Wilier Selle Italia) and Mirco Maestri (Bardiani CSF).

Meanwhile, the peloton was being pulled by teams like Quick-Step Floors, Sky and Bora-hansgrohe. At 30 kilometres from the finish, the peloton caught the remaining of the escapees and continued at a high pace.

The last climbs of the race took a toll on Marcel Kittel (Katusha) and he was left behind by the pack. With nine kilometres to go, Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) crashed out of the race when he hit a piece of road furniture.

The ascent of the Poggio di Sanremo featured attacks of riders like Jempy Drucker (BMC), Marcus Burghardt (Bora-hansgrohe) and Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), who managed to get away from the pack. Behind him, teams like Bora-hansgrohe and Sky worked hard to control the gap of the Italian with the hopes of positioning their men for the final.

At 4 kilometres from the end, Mitchelton-Scott's Matteo Trentin also attacked from the pack and Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) himself led the chase for the two Italians. Despite the peloton getting closer and closer, Nibali managed to cross the line ahead of Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott) and Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ).

This is the third Monument victory for Nibali after winning Il Lombardia in 2015 and 2017.



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: