Peter Sagan takes the victory in Paris-Roubaix
Apr 08 2018 11:21 pm CET

Peter Sagan takes the victory in Paris-Roubaix
Peter Sagan takes the victory in Paris-Roubaix
Photo of Peter Sagan by the A.S.O.

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) has won Paris-Roubaix. The World Champion escaped from the peloton with 50 kilometres remaining and arrived at the velodrome together with Silvan Dillier.

The highly anticipated race was 257 kilometres long between Compiegne and the velodrome of Roubaix. Early on, riders like Silvan Dillier (AG2R La Mondiale), Sven Erik Bystrom (UAE Team Emirates) and Marc Soler (Movistar) broke free from the peloton and created a gap of more than eight minutes with the peloton.

Behind them, several crashes broke the peloton and led to the withdrawals of riders like Stefan Küng (BMC), Nelson Oliveira (Movistar) and Geraint Thomas (Sky). The most concerning news of the day came from Verandas Willems-Crelan when they confirmed that their rider Michael Goolaerts suffered a cardiac arrest during the race and had to be taken to a hospital in Lille.

The mythical Forest of Arenberg managed to break apart the escape and the peloton leaving riders like Soler and Jimmy Duquennoy (WB Aqua Protect Veranclassic) chasing the front group, and allowing others like Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) and Mike Teunissen (Sunweb) to escape from the pack.

At around 80 kilometres to go, Gilbert's group caught the chasers and some kilometres later, Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors) attacked and created a considerable gap with the now-reduced group of favourites. The former cyclocross champion caught some of the riders that dropped from the front group and was reeled back in by the pack with 58 kilometres to go.

At 55 kilometres from the end, the 2017 winner of the race Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) attacked but was soon reeled back in. A few meters later, Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) also tried his luck and was more effective, creating a gap with the peloton and catching the front men some kilometres later.

Behind them, Trek-Segafredo pulled the pack until Jasper Stuyven made a move and took Wout Van Aert (Verandas Willems-Crelan) with him. In the bunch, there was a crash that involved candidates for the victory Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin) and Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates).

With 43 kilometres remaining, Stuyven and Van Aert were caught by a small group pulled by two riders of Quick-Step Floors and forced an acceleration in order to catch the front group. Three kilometres later, Van Avermaet, Taylor Phinney and Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First-Drapac) joined the chase group as well.

At 25 kilometres from the finish, Jelle Wallays (Lotto Soudal) dropped from the front group and left Sagan and Dillier riding by themselves. Behind them, Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors), Van Avermaet, Vanmarcke and Stuyven tried to close the gap but this showed to be very difficult.

Despite the efforts of the chasers, Dillier and Sagan arrived on their own to the velodrome and in the last lap the World Champion played his cards well to cross the finish line ahead of the Swiss champion. Terpstra occupied the third step of the podium.

This is the second victory in a Monument for the rider after the 2016 Tour of Flanders.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: