Tim Wellens victorious at Brabantse Pijl on an emotional day
Apr 11 2018 11:39 pm CET

Tim Wellens victorious at Brabantse Pijl on an emotional day

Lotto Soudal's Tim Wellens has taken the victory at De Brabantse Pijl. A late attack gave the rider a gap big enough to cross the finish line on his own.

The 201.9-kilometre race started with a minute of silence in honour of the late Michael Goolaerts while his teammates, including the ones who were not going to start on the day, were in the front of the peloton.

Early on, a group of seven riders escaped and created a gap of more than three minutes with the peloton. The escape formed by cyclists like Dries De Bondt (Veranda's Willems-Crelan), Tyler Williams (Israel Cycling Academy) and Andrea Peron (Novo Nordisk) was later on joined by Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott) and Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Soudal).

With 40 kilometres to go, Van Der Sande and Haig were the only remaining leaders. The duo continued riding together while behind them several attacks managed to break the peloton and left a chase group of favourites that included riders like Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) and last year's winner Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida).

At 12 kilometres from the finish line, the leaders were caught and soon new attacks started flying in the reduced peloton. A few kilometres later, Wellens jumped from the front group and soon created a considerable gap with the rest.

Behind him, riders like Dylan Teuns (BMC) unsuccessfully tried to close the gap, as the Belgian crossed the finish line on his own, dedicating the victory to Goolaerts. Colbrelli was second and Wellens' teammate Tiesj Benoot was third.

Photo of Tim Wellens (cropped) by Lotto-Soudal



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: