Anna van der Breggen celebrates birthday with victory at Fleche Wallonne
Apr 18 2018 02:07 pm CET

Anna van der Breggen celebrates birthday with victory at Fleche Wallonne
Anna van der Breggen celebrates birthday with victory at Fleche Wallonne
Photo of Anna van der Breggen by Boels Dolmans

Anna van der Breggen has taken the victory at the Fleche Wallonne. The rider of Boels-Dolmans crossed the finish line ahead of Ashleigh Moolman and Megan Guarnier.

The third edition of the race in the UCI Women's World Tour was 118.5 kilometres long from and to Huy. The escape of the day had one star: Swiss champion Doris Schweizer (Virtu), who got a lead of more than one minute over a peloton pulled by Boels Dolmans and WaowDeals.

Behind her, riders like Jolien D'hoore, Jessica Allen, Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) and Corin Rivera (Sunweb) suffered crashes but got back on their bikes to continue racing. With 55 kilometres to go, Schweizer was caught by a chase group that included riders like Ane Santesteban (Ale Cipollini) and Tereza Medvedova (BePink).

At 38 kilometres from the end, a reduced peloton caught the escapees and at the ascent of the Cote de Cherave Canyon-SRAM's Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Canyon-SRAM) attacked and multiple winner of the race Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans) stayed at her wheel. Moments later, a small group including Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5), Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Canyon-SRAM), and Ashleigh Moolman (Cervelo-Bigla) joined them at the front.

The first ascent to the Mur de Huy broke the front group and Ferrand-Prevot, Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans), Janneke Ensing (Ale Cipollini) and Spratt were the only ones remaining in the lead. Behind them, the reduced pack was pulled by Sunweb and Cervelo-Biga to attempt to close the gap.

The front group was caught in the last kilometre and moments after Moolman attacked and was followed by van der Breggen and Guarnier. The Boels-Dolmans rider showed to be the strongest at the last moment and crossed the finish line ahead of Moolman and Guarnier.

The Dutchwoman celebrated her birthday by becoming the first rider to win the race four times in a row.



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address:


Giro d'Italia
WWT Emakumeen XXXI. Bira


Tour des Fjords2018-05-22
Baloise Belgium Tour2018-05-23


Amgen Tour of California2018-05-13
Tour of Norway2018-05-16
Amgen Tour of California Women2018-05-17