Sam Bennett victorious on rainy day at Giro d'Italia
May 17 2018 11:13 pm CET

Sam Bennett victorious on rainy day at Giro d'Italia
Sam Bennett victorious on rainy day at Giro d'Italia
Photo of Sam Bennett (c)BORA-hansgrohe / VeloImages

Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe) has taken the victory at the 12th stage of the Giro d'Italia. This is the second stage victory for the Irishman in this edition of the Italian grand tour.

The 214-kilometre stage was mostly flat and though it was set to be an easy day suitable for the sprinters, the weather had different plans. The day had wet and dry moments and started with the escape of Marco Frapporti (Androni-Giocatolli), Mirco Maestri, Manuel Senni (Bardiani CSF), Jacopo Mosca and Eugert Zhupa (Wilier Triestina).

The front group achieved a lead of more than three minutes on the peloton and it broke at 25 kilometres to go, leaving Maestri and Mosca riding on their own.

Almost at the same time and as the rain fell harder, the peloton also broke into two groups, in a move that left riders like Richard Carapaz (Movistar), Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) and favourite for the stage win Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) chasing to catch the front part of the pack.

With 20 kilometres remaining, the front group caught the two escapees while the third group could also make contact again with the back part of the peloton, but Viviani was left behind. Moments later, Tim Wellens (Lotto-FixAll) attacked and managed to create a gap with the rest.

At 10 kilometres from the finish, Wellens was caught by the peloton and immediately after, attacks started from riders like Sergio Henao (Sky), Rohan Dennis (BMC) and Carapaz. This small group was also caught by the rest and Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates) attacked with seven kilometres to go and was followed by Movistar's Carlos Betancur.

Two kilometres later, the pair was joined by Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) who then attacked and took Betancur with him. Ulissi was caught by the peloton and the duo was reeled back in within the last kilometre.

Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe) launched an early strong attack and none of the other sprinters could stay at his wheel. The Irishman crossed the finish line on his own and was followed by LottoNL-Jumbo's Danny van Poppel and Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida).

Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) keeps the GC lead.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: