Schachmann wins stage, Tom Dumoulin cuts gap with Simon Yates in half
May 24 2018 11:25 pm CET

Schachmann wins stage, Tom Dumoulin cuts gap with Simon Yates in half
Schachmann wins stage, Tom Dumoulin cuts gap with Simon Yates in half
Quick-Step Floors jersey ©Sigfrid Eggers

Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) has won the 18th stage of the Giro d'Italia. A late attack of Chris Froome and Tom Dumoulin made Simon Yates lose 28 seconds in the General Classification.

The 196-kilometre route of the 18th day of racing featured a first category climb leading to the finish. A group of 12 riders that included Boy van Poppel (Trek-Segafredo), Michael Morkov (Katusha-Alpecin) and Jos van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) formed the breakaway of the day that took an advantage of more than 16 minutes over the peloton.

With 20 kilometres to go, van Poppel launched an attack on the escapees but at 11 kilometres from the final, he was caught by the rest and dropped later on. The climb took a toll on the group until only Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) and Mattia Cattaneo (Andronio Giocattoli) remained in front.

A couple of kilometres later, Christoph Pfingsten (Bora-hansgrohe) and Ruben Plaza (Israel Cycling Academy), joined the duo in front but had problems keeping up with their speed. Meanwhile, Movistar moved to the front of the peloton to try to get the time needed for Richard Carapaz to get the White jersey of the youth classification.

At two kilometres from the end, Schachmann and Cattaneo were left on their own again and started a fight against each other to get the stage victory. In the peloton, Pello Bilbao (Astana) and Wout Poels (Sky) attacked and took a considerable distance with the others.

In front, Plaza rejoined the other two to face the last kilometre. Schachmann attacked in the last metres and took the stage victory, Plaza and Cattaneo were second and third on the day, respectively.

Behind, Poels seemed to be the strongest of the attacking trio and continued on his own, while Carapaz jumped from the peloton and was closely followed by a Miguel Angel Lopez that was not willing to let go of the White jersey. The Colombian got to the wheel of Poels and the two of them continued together.

A couple of kilometres later, Lopez dropped Poels while Carapaz kept struggling to get to him. At two kilometres from the end, Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) attacked and was closely followed by Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida).

Metres later, Chris Froome (Sky) joined and attacked, taking Pozzovivo and Dumoulin with him and creating a gap with Yates. Dumoulin crossed the finish line 28 seconds ahead of Yates, reducing the gap in the General Classification to 28 seconds.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: