National Championships roundup: Grivko, Ludvigsson, Quick-Step Floors, BMC, British Cycling
Jun 21 2018 03:17 am CET

National Championships roundup: Grivko, Ludvigsson, Quick-Step Floors, BMC, British Cycling
National Championships roundup: Grivko, Ludvigsson, Quick-Step Floors, BMC, British Cycling
Photo by ASO/A.Broadway

While some National Championships will take place over the weekend, in other countries they have already started. Here is an overview of some new champions and riders that set to start in the championships.

Andrey Grivko celebrates in Ukraine

Astana's Andrey Grivko has won the Individual Time Trial of the Ukrainian National Championships. The rider was the fastest at the day's route and stopped the clock after 52 minutes and 40 seconds.

The rider was dominant in the competition and reached the finish line more than two minutes faster than the runner-up, Mikhail Kononenko. Alexander Golovash occupied the third spot of the time trial podium.

Tobias Ludvigsson successfully defends time trial title

Groupama-FDJ's Tobias Ludvigsson has taken the Swedish Time Trial Championship's title for the second time. The rider had already won the competition in 2017.

The Swede went through the 47-kilometre route almost two minutes faster than Staffan Arvidsson.

Quick-Step Floors' riders to fight in National Championships

Quick-Step Floors is going to be present with 21 riders in the diverse National Championships that will take place over the week. The team is particularly interested in the Belgian championships but expects to have a strong representation in every country its riders start in.

Belgium: Laurens De Plus (ITT), Tim Declercq, Dries Devenyns, Philippe Gilbert, Iljo Keisse, Yves Lampaert (ITT) and Pieter Serry.
Czech Republic: Zdenek Stybar
Denmark: Kasper Asgreen (ITT) and Michael Mørkøv
France: Julian Alaphilippe, Rémi Cavagna (ITT) and Florian Sénéchal.
Germany: Maximilian Schachmann.
Italy: Eros Capecchi, Davide Martinelli, Fabio Sabatini, Elia Viviani
Luxembourg: Bob Jungels.
The Netherlands: Fabio Jakobsen and Niki Terpstra (ITT).

BMC's riders ready to tackle National Championships

A big part of BMC Racing Team will start in their respective National Championships over the week.

Belgium: Jürgen Roelandts, Dylan Teuns, Greg Van Avermaet, Nathan Van Hooydonck (ITT), Loïc Vliegen.
Italy: Damiano Caruso, Alessandro De Marchi (ITT).
Ireland: Nicolas Roche
Switzerland: Tom Bohli (ITT), Kilian Frankiny, Stefan Küng (ITT), Michael Schär and Danilo Wyss.
USA: Brent Bookwalter (ITT) and Joey Rosskopf (ITT).

British Cycling welcomes stars for National Championships

Some of the biggest British riders of men's and women's professional cycling are meeting in Northumberland to start in the National Championships.

Geraint Thomas, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Owain Doull, Stephen Cummings, Alex Dowsett, Mark Cavendish, Adam Blythe, Peter Kennaugh, Hannah Barnes, Alice Barnes, Danielle Rowe, Lucy Garner, Grace Harner and Sarah Storey are some of the riders that will be in the time trials and road races of the British Championships.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: