Victor Campenaerts becomes Belgian TT champion for the second time
Jun 22 2018 05:25 am CET

Victor Campenaerts becomes Belgian TT champion for the second time
Victor Campenaerts becomes Belgian TT champion for the second time
Photo of Victor Campenaerts by Lotto Soudal

Victor Campenaerts (Lotto-Soudal) has won the Belgian Time Trial Championship for the second time in his career.

The rider was only two seconds faster than Thomas De Gendt, who finished in second place. Quick-Step Floors' Yves Lampaert stepped on the third place of the podium.

"I had expected to have lost time on Yves Lampaert after the first of three laps because he is a fast starter," the rider commented at the end of the day. "Fifteen seconds wasn’t a small time gap, but at the end of the second lap I had five seconds advantage and in the end, I was twenty seconds faster than Lampaert, but only two and a half seconds faster than Thomas De Gendt.

"Thomas was obviously the fastest in the last lap. I am very happy he stood next to me on the podium."

Campenaerts was one of the favourites of the day considering he is the current European Time Trial champion, a title he also wants to extend. "Before the race, I had said that I am the best Belgian time trialist of the moment and of course I put pressure on myself that way," the Belgian explained. EI am very glad that I could achieve my goal. This is my first victory for Lotto Soudal. I had already contested some time trials, in which I performed well, but I hadn’t been able to win yet.

"I am happy I could win today. I want to prolong my European title at the European Championships in Glasgow on 8 August, although it won’t be easy. If I can’t win that Championship, I will be happy to ride time trials in the Belgian jersey. On 7 July I leave on a team training camp to Livigno and I will stay two more weeks on my own, which means I will be on altitude training camp for about four weeks. I hope to optimally prepare myself for the European Time Trial Championship."



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address:



Tour of Oman2019-02-16
Trofeo Laigueglia2019-02-17
Clasica de Almeria2019-02-17
Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol2019-02-20
Volta ao Algarve em Bicicleta2019-02-20