Peter Sagan takes victory at Tour de France, Greg Van Avermaet keeps Yellow Jersey
Jul 11 2018 11:34 pm CET

Peter Sagan takes victory at Tour de France, Greg Van Avermaet keeps Yellow Jersey
Peter Sagan takes victory at Tour de France, Greg Van Avermaet keeps Yellow Jersey
Photo of Peter Sagan by the A.S.O.

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) has won the fifth stage of the Tour de France. The World Champion crossed the finish line ahead of Sonny Colbrelli and Philippe Gilbert.

The fifth stage of the French race was 204.5 kilometres long between Lorient and Quimper over a rolling profile. The day started with an escape formed by Elie Gesbert (Fortuneo-Samsic), Julien Vermote (Dimension Data), Jasper De Buyst (Lotto-Soudal), Sylvan Chavanel, Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie), Toms Skujins (Trek Segafredo) and Nicolas Edet (Cofidis).

With 100 kilometres to go, Chavanel attacked and went away on his own, building a gap of more than four minutes with the peloton. Behind him, Gasbert crashed in the chasers group and even though he went back on his back, was soon reeled back in by the pack.

At 60 kilometres from the finish line, Calmejane, Skujins and Edet rejoined Chavanel in front, while the rest of the former escapees were caught back by the peloton. Behind, some kilometres later, there was a crash in the pack that affected riders like Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott), Yoann Offredo and Dion Smith (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), but didn't have any serious consequences.

During the ascent of the Menez Quelerc'h, Skujins attacked from the front group and only Calmejane could stay at his wheel. With 12 kilometres remaining, the escapees were reeled back in by the peloton and right away Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) attacked but rejoined the bunch some metres later.

Just past the 10-kilometre mark, Reine Taaramäe (Direct Energie) jumped from the peloton and created a substantial gap with the pack. The rider was reeled back in with five kilometres to go and as the speed increased, some men got dropped at the back like Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors).

At the last kilometre, the first rider to attack was Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) and he was joined by Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) and Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe). Van Avermaet launched an attack metres later but soon was overtaken by Sagan and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida).

The World Champion once again showed his talent on the classic terrain and crossed the finish line ahead of Colbrelli and Gilbert.

Van Avermaet keeps the Yellow Jersey for another day.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: