John Degenkolb takes Roubaix victory on a dramatic stage at Tour de France
Jul 15 2018 10:20 pm CET

John Degenkolb takes Roubaix victory on a dramatic stage at Tour de France
John Degenkolb takes Roubaix victory on a dramatic stage at Tour de France

John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) has won the ninth stage of the Tour de France. The German took another victory in Roubaix after winning the classic race in 2015.

The ninth day of the French grand tour featured the anticipated cobbles stage between Arras Citadelle and Roubaix. The escape of the day was formed in the early kilometres by Omar Fraile (Astana), Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal), Patrick Tolhoek (LottoNL-Jumbo), Jérôme Cousin and Damien Gaudin (Direct Energie).

Tolhoek suffered a mechanical at the first cobbled section and was soon caught by the peloton. An early crash left Richie Porte (BMC) and Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) out of the race and injured others like Andre Greipel.

Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) suffered a mechanical and had to change bikes but soon came back to the pack. Other riders that underwent mechanical problems or small crashes included Egan Bernal, Chris Froome (Sky), Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo), Tejay van Garderen (BMC), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First

With 60 kilometres to go, the mix of crashes and cobbles split the peloton in two, leaving behind riders like Uran, Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and Toms Skujins (Trek-Segafredo). Some kilometres later, the back part of the peloton contacted with the front part.

At 49 kilometres from the finish, Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) increased the pace at the front of the peloton. With 43 kilometres remaining, Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) attacked from a pack that had broken in two pieces once again.

A couple of kilometres later, the two groups got together again and Gaviria was reeled back in. At 34 kilometres from the end, Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) attacked but some metres later he suffered a mechanical and was left behind, while in the back Mikel Landa and Rigoberto Uran suffered crashes in two different spots that left them struggling.

With 16 kilometres to go, Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors), van Avermaet and John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) attacked and created a small gap with the reduced peloton, while behind a group led by Landa was 50 seconds behind and the group of Uran was at more than one minute.

Sagan launched an attack with three kilometres remaining while Bardet struggled in the back once again with another puncture. The trio in front arrived together to the finish line and Degenkolb showed to be the better sprinter and crossed the finish line ahead of van Avermaet and Lampaert.

Van Avermaet keeps the Yellow jersey for another day.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: