Magnus Cort Nielsen celebrates at Tour de France
Jul 22 2018 11:54 pm CET

Magnus Cort Nielsen celebrates at Tour de France
Magnus Cort Nielsen celebrates at Tour de France
Photo of Magnus Cort Nielsen © Mary Cárdenas /

Magnus Cort Nielsen (Astana) has taken the victory at the 15th stage of the Tour de France. The Dane was part of a later breakaway and beat Ion Izagirre and Bauke Mollema in a final sprint.

The riders moved between Millau and Carcassonne over a 181.5-kilometre hilly route that included one third-category climb, one of the second category and one of the first category. The stage started with an escape of Georg Mühlberger (Bora-hansgrohe), Warren Barguil (Fortuneo-Samsic) and Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott).

Behind them, a group of 29 riders jumped from the peloton and eventually caught the leading trio. This group included riders like Peter Sagan, Bauke Mollema, Greg Van Avermaet, Rafal Majka, Magnus Cort, Marc Soler, Ion Izagirre and Jesus Herrada, among others.

At the ascent to the Col de Sie, Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie) attacked and continued for a while on his own. Just past the 74-kilometre mark, the Frenchman was reeled back in by the front group and more attempts at attacks happened in the next kilometres but none were successful.

Majka attacked at the climb of the Pic de Nore and later on the same ascent, Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates) also made a move from the peloton. With 14 kilometres to go, the chasers (Mollema, Calmejane, Domenico Pozzovivo, Izagirre, Michael Valgren, Cort, Toms Skujins) got a hold on Majka when the gap with the peloton was more than 13 minutes.

At more than six kilometres to go, Mollema attacked from the front and was followed by Cort and Izagirre, and quickly built a gap with the rest. With 1.3 kilometres to go, Izagirre made a move but was followed by the other two.

Cort Nielsen was the only sprinter of the trio and he controlled the speed in the last metres. The Dane launched his sprint with 200 metres to go and his companions were no competition which allowed him to cross the finish line well ahead of them.

Izagirre was second and Mollema was third. The peloton arrived at more than 12 minutes from the stage winner and the GC remained largely the same with Geraint Thomas at the top, followed by Chris Froome and Tom Dumoulin.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: