Julian Alaphilippe makes it two at Tour de France, Geraint Thomas keeps GC lead
Jul 24 2018 11:25 pm CET

Julian Alaphilippe makes it two at Tour de France, Geraint Thomas keeps GC lead
Julian Alaphilippe makes it two at Tour de France, Geraint Thomas keeps GC lead
Photo of Julian Alaphilippe (c)Sigfrid Eggers

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) has won the 16th stage of the Tour de France. The rider launched a late attack behind Adam Yates and took the lead following a crash of the Briton.

The 16th stage of the French race was 218 kilometres long between Carcassonne and Bagneres-de-Luchon over a route that included two ascents of the first category and a steep descent to the finish. After 29 kilometres in the stage, the race had to be neutralised due to farmers' protests that were cutting the road and got removed by the police with the help of tear gas, which also affected the riders.

The effects of the gas forced some riders to get medical treatment and after some minutes, the race was resumed. At around 100 kilometres to go, the break of the day was formed by 47 riders including Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo), Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida), Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), Philippe Gilbert and Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors).

Gilbert crested the Port d'Aspet on his own and headed down at top speed. During the descent, he lost control of the bike and ended up falling into a ravine but fortunately he didn't suffer any serious injuries, climbing back up by himself and returning to his bike.

A small group that included Gesink, Mollema, Yates, Marc Soler and Alaphilippe attacked from the front at the first part of the ascent of the Col du Portillon and built a gap with the rest. With 12 kilometres to go, Yates changed the rhythm and none of his companions could stay at his wheel.

At 10 kilometres to go, Jakob Fuglsang and Jesper Hansen (Astana) attacked from the peloton and were soon joined by Ilnur Zakarin and Ian Boswell (Katusha-Alpecin). This attempt was neutralised two kilometres later and the peloton kept ascending together.

At the descent, Yates crashed and was overtaken by Alaphilippe. The Briton tried to catch the Frenchman but showed blood on the left side of his body and couldn't keep the pace. Mollema, Pozzovivo and Izagirre caught Yates and the four arrived together to the finish line, behind Alaphilippe, who took the second victory in the race.

Mikel Landa (Movistar) attacked on the last part of the ascent and was closely followed by Chris Froome and other Sky riders. Landa built a small gap on the descent but was reeled back in by a small group with Froome, Geraint Thomas, Tom Dumoulin, Primoz Roglic and Nairo Quintana.

The favourites' group crossed the line safely and Thomas keeps the Yellow Jersey for another day.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: