Marianne Vos takes third victory at Vargarda
Aug 14 2018 03:51 am CET

Marianne Vos takes third victory at Vargarda
Marianne Vos takes third victory at Vargarda
Photo of Marianne Vos by WaowDeals Pro Cycling Team

Marianne Vos (WaowDeals) has taken the victory of the Crescent Vargarda race in Sweden. The rider celebrated the win of the race for the third time in her career.

The Swedish race was 141 kilometres long in and around the city of Vargarda. Virtu Cycling controlled the pace of the peloton in the first three laps while several riders attempted unsuccessfully to breakaway, other teams like Boels-Dolmans and Movistar took later the front of the pack.

At 82 kilometres to go, Movistar's Mavi Garcia launched an attack and created a gap of around a minute with the peloton. Around ten kilometres later, Anna van der Breggen, Marianne Vos and Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig also attacked and forced the pack to change the pace, which left some riders struggling at the back and achieved the goal of reeling back in the front riders.

The next kilometres had attacks from riders like van der Breggen, Jeanne Korevaar (WaowDeals), Lucinda Brand (Sunweb) and Chloe Hosking (Ale Cipollini), among many others. At 49 kilometres from the finish, the peloton faced the Gravel Sector 4, which was the trickiest one and managed to break the group into pieces.

Soon after, a group of around 50 riders formed a new front group and more attacks happened. With 30 kilometres to go, van der Breggen launched a new attack and was later joined by Brand, Anna Trevisi (Ale Cipollini) and Alex Manly (Mitchelton-Scott), but some kilometres later, the pack caught them.

With 20 kilometres to go, van der Breggen gave it another go and quickly created a gap with the others. This attack looked promising for the final victory but the Dutchwoman ran out of energy with five kilometres to go and was soon overtaken by the main group.

The race came down to a final sprint in which Marianne Vos (WaowDeals) showed to have the better legs. The Dutchwoman crossed the finish line ahead of Kirsten Wild (Wiggle High5) and Lotta Lepistö (Cervelo Bigla).

Elena Cecchini (Canyon-SRAM) and Barbara Guarischi (Virtu Cycling) completed the top five of the day.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: