New team Roompot-Charles Cycling announces 13 riders
Sep 29 2018 10:12 pm CET

New team Roompot-Charles Cycling announces 13 riders
New team Roompot-Charles Cycling announces 13 riders
Photo by ASO/A.Broadway

The merger of Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij and Veranda's Willems-Crelan has a concrete team after the announcement of a few weeks ago. Seven riders of the Dutch team and six of the Belgian are so far confirmed for the new formation.

At the end of August the announcement of the fusion of the teams was made and after a turbulent start with the contract termination of Wout van Aert, the new team announces the riders from the old squads that are staying.

The new ProContinental team will be known as Roompot-Charles Cycling and will have the sports leadership of Erik Breukink, Jean-Paul van Poppel and Michael Boogerd. Thirteen riders have been announced and the team is currently working on further strengthening it.

The seven riders of Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij that are included in the new team are Elmar Reinders, Jan-Willem van Schip, Jesper Asselman, Nick van der Lijke, Oscar Riesebeek, Pieter Weening and Sjoerd van Ginneken. The cyclists of Veranda's Willems-Crelan that will be in the squad are Arjen Livyns, Huub Duijn, Mathias De Witte, Sean De Bie, Senne Leysen and Stijn Steels.

"Riders with capacities are coming together in the new team," said Roompot's General Manager Michael Zijlaard. "Jan Willem van Schip was still under contract at Roompot. I am also pleased that the basic core of Team Roompot 2018 has been signed up.

"We are also proud that a number of riders have been able to take the step to a WorldTour team. We have riders who can show themselves in different areas but we also realise that we need to attract further reinforcement. In the coming days, we will be able to announce a number of new riders."



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: