Julian Alaphilippe beats Jakob Fuglsang to take Strade Bianche win
Mar 09 2019 10:30 pm CET

Julian Alaphilippe beats Jakob Fuglsang to take Strade Bianche win
Julian Alaphilippe beats Jakob Fuglsang to take Strade Bianche win
Photo of Julian Alaphilippe © Mary Cárdenas / CyclingPub.com

Deceuninck-Quick-Step's Julian Alaphilippe has taken the win at Strade Bianche. The rider was faster in the last metres than Jakob Fuglsang, Wout van Aert was third.

The Italian race was 184 kilometres long and featured around 63 kilometres of gravel roads, divided into 11 sectors. The first escape group was formed in the first 30 kilometres by Nico Denz (AG2R La Mondiale), Leo Vincent (Groupama-FDJ) and Diego Rosa (Team Sky).

This group built a gap of more than two minutes with the pack and the challenges of the course eventually left Rosa riding in front by himself. But the Italian rider couldn't resist the speed of the riders behind him and was eventually caught.

With 32 kilometres to go a new front group was formed and included names like the winner of the 2018 edition Tiesj Benoot, Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal), Jakob Fuglsang, Alexey Lutsenko (Astana), Greg Van Avermaet (CCC Team), Julian Alaphilippe, Yves Lampaert, Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick-Step), Simon Clarke (EF Education First), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), Toms Skujins (Trek-Segafredo) and Rob Power (Sunweb).

At 23 kilometres from the finish, Fuglsang, Van Aert and Alaphilippe launched an attack and managed to create a considerable advantage over the rest of the escapees. At the 10th gravel sector, the Belgian rider of Jumbo-Visma couldn't keep up with the speed of the other two and was left behind.

With 5.7 kilometres to go, Fuglsang attempted an attack but Alaphilippe followed him with ease. Van Aert caught the front two men with one kilometre to go and the three of them entered the final moments of the race.

The first rider to make a move was Fuglsang and Alaphilippe followed. The Frenchman accelerated in the last 300 metres and crossed the finish line just ahead of the Danish rider.

Van Aert took the third position of the race for the second consecutive year. Stybar and Benoot completed the top five of the day.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: