Second victory in a row for Dylan Groenewegen in Paris-Nice
Mar 11 2019 11:18 pm CET

Second victory in a row for Dylan Groenewegen in Paris-Nice
Second victory in a row for Dylan Groenewegen in Paris-Nice
Team Jumbo-Visma

Jumbo-Visma's Dylan Groenewegen has taken his second victory in a row in Paris-Nice. The Dutchman was the fastest of the reduced front group and maintains the GC lead of the race.

The second stage of the French race was 165.6 kilometres long between Les Breviaires and Bellegarde. The escape of the day was formed by Nicolas Edet (Cofidis), Alessandro de Marchi (CCC Team) and Damien Gaudin and the trio built a gap of more than two minutes with the peloton.

The route featured two climbs of the third category and just after the first one, hard winds caused echelons and splits in the peloton. At the 35th kilometre of the day, the front trio was reeled back in by the front part of the peloton, which included opening stage winner Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma).

Just after the last ascent of the day, and as the peloton came back together, new echelons were formed and there was a crash that involved and left out of the race riders like Warren Barguil (Arkea Samsic) and Gorka Izagirre (Astana). Other riders like Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) were stuck in one of the last groups.

With 40 kilometres to go, a group of 23 riders was formed in front and included names like Groenewegen, Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott), Nairo Quintana (Movistar), Ivan Garcia Cortina (Bahrain-Merida), Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale), Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step), Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin), Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky) and Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First).

Soon after, Kwiatkowski had a mechanical and Uran crashed and they formed a small group that managed to bridge back to the front group. In the last three kilometres, a group of eight riders formed by Trentin, Garcia Cortina, Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana), Luke Rowe, Egan Bernal (Sky), Kwiatkowski, Gilbert and Groenewegen made a move and left the rest behind.

The Dutchman of Jumbo-Visma was once again the fastest and crossed the finish line ahead of Garcia Cortina and Gilbert. Trentin and Kwiatkowski completed the top five of the day and Groenewegen once again climbed onto the podium to wear the GC leader's jersey.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: