Team Sunweb announces complete roster for Giro d'Italia
May 01 2019 08:42 pm CET

Team Sunweb announces complete roster for Giro d'Italia
Team Sunweb announces complete roster for Giro d'Italia
Photo of Tom Dumoulin by LaPresse - D'Alberto / Ferrari / Paolone / Spada

Team Sunweb has announced the entire roster that will support Tom Dumoulin's aspirations of winning the Giro d'Italia for a second time.

After the spring disappointments for the team with the injuries of Wilco Kelderman and Martijn Tusveld, who were supposed to go with Dumoulin to the Corsa Rosa, the team has chosen a strong roster to support the Dutchman in every scenario.

"This year we look to replicate our successes of the previous years, heading to Italy with the same ambitions and focus for the overall classification," said coach Marc Reef. "Everybody has an important and specific role in our plan and we have selected what we believe is the strongest configuration of riders to support our primary season goal; to ultimately get Tom into the best possible position to achieve a solid GC result for the team.

"We bring Chad and Louis to guide Tom through the stage’s early difficulties and our young Australian guns for the tougher days. We’ll benefit from Jan’s experience and quality in the hectic and explosive finals and we have Sam, who we expect to grow into the race to bring support on the key stages that come in week two and three.

The team has already shared some time together at the altitude training and all of them are ready to replicate the success of 2017 when Tom Dumoulin won the Giro d'Italia. "Good training and preparation plans mean that we head to Italy in the best possible condition," Reef explained.

"The guys have had a good few blocks at altitude and some more racing in their legs over the past couple of days. Now we’re all really looking forward to heading to Bologna to kick off our Grand Tour season on what we hope will be a great note.”

Team Sunweb's line-up for the Giro d'Italia (11th of May-2nd of June):

Jan Bakelants
Tom Dumoulin
Chad Haga
Chris Hamilton
Jai Hindley
Sam Oomen
Robert Power
Louis Vervaeke



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: