Ilnur Zakarin victorious in 13th stage of Giro d'Italia on a challenging day for the favourites
May 24 2019 11:20 pm CET

Ilnur Zakarin victorious in 13th stage of Giro d'Italia on a challenging day for the favourites
Ilnur Zakarin victorious in 13th stage of Giro d'Italia on a challenging day for the favourites
Photo of Ilnur Zakarin by Katusha-Alpecin

Katusha-Alpecin's Ilnur Zakarin has taken the victory of the 13th stage of the Giro d'Italia. The top five of the day was completed by Mikel Nieve, Mikel Landa, Richard Carapaz and Bauke Mollema, while Jan Polanc remains at the top of the GC.

The 196-kilometre long stage started with an escape of 28 riders that included names like Bauke Mollema, Giulio Ciccone, Antwan Toelhoek, Mikel Nieve and Andrey Amador. This group managed to create a gap of more than two minutes with the rest and broke apart and got back together as the kilometres passed.

On the second climb of the day and with 66 kilometres to go, Pello Bilbao changed the rhythm and took his Astana teammate Miguel Angel Lopez with him and left Primoz Roglic without any teammates. After that, there was more movement in the pack that managed to leave behind the wearer of the Maglia Rosa Jan Polanc and made a selection to form the favourites group.

In the kilometres heading to the last climb of the day, the Pink Jersey group rejoined the favourites group. At the first ramps of the ascent, some of the front group riders were left behind until only five remained including Ion Izagirre, Ciccone and Hector Carretero.

With 17 kilometres to go, some riders of the original chase group rejoined the front of the race, including Mollema who had the best GC position of those in the lead group. In the peloton, Landa tried several attacks, breaking the group and leaving riders like Polanc and Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) struggling behind, while others like Rafal Majka, Roglic, Lopez and Nibali formed a group to chase the Spaniard.

Later, Landa joined Amador and created a chasing group with some of the riders that were left behind by the front men. With 12 kilometres to go, Lopez suffered a mechanical and was left behind by the other favourites and after that joined the Maglia Rosa group that also included Yates.

At six kilometres to go, Amador finished his work and Landa made a new change of rhythm and left his companions behind, continuing on his own. With five kilometres to go and as Ciccone finished his work for Mollema in the front group, Zakarin attacked and left the Dutchman and Mikel Nieve behind.

One kilometre later, Majka attacked from the favourites and was joined by Sivakov and Richard Carapaz, leaving Roglic and Nibali behind. Meanwhile, Nieve rejoined Zakarin in front.

At three kilometres from the end, Roglic sped up and was followed by Nibali and soon after Landa joined Mollema in the chasing group. Close to the last kilometre banner, Zakarin changed the pace again and once more left Nieve struggling behind, while Landa also left Mollema on his own.

The next rider to try his luck was Nibali, who accelerated but was closely followed by Roglic. Zakarin crossed the finish line on his own, Nieve did so 34 seconds later, Landa one minute and 20 seconds later, Carapaz one minute and 36 seconds and Mollema one minute and 44 seconds behind the Russian.

Roglic and Nibali arrived to the end two minutes and 56 seconds behind the rider of Katusha-Alpecin, while Lopez did so at four minutes and 17 seconds from the winner and Yates at almost five minutes. Polanc crossed the line four minutes and 38 seconds behind the stage winner and kept the lead of the General Classification.




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: