Chris Froome ready to lead Team Ineos at Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 06 2019 10:51 pm CET

Chris Froome ready to lead Team Ineos at Criterium du Dauphine
Chris Froome ready to lead Team Ineos at Criterium du Dauphine
Photo of Chris Froome by Team Ineos

Chris Froome is set to return to the Criterium du Dauphine as part of his preparation for the Tour de France. The rider will lead Team Ineos in the French race.

The six-time grand tour winner just finished his altitude training in Tenerife and is ready to face the upcoming challenges. "This approach and build-up to July is something we've tried and tested quite a few times over the years now," he commented. "Our camp went really well, and as always at the second camp in Tenerife, I start to feel a lot more ready for racing. Now I'm looking forward to pinning on some numbers at the Dauphine.

"It's hard to say where I'm going to be, given I haven't done much racing recently, but I'd like to be there fighting for the overall win at the Dauphine. The Tour group as a whole is moving forward and looking really good and ready for the next couple of months ahead. So hopefully we'll have a really strong outing at the Dauphine as well."

Froome has already won the Dauphine three times and he's prepared to face it again after the second altitude training of his season. "I think it's a pretty good, well-balanced route," the rider explained. "There are a few lumpy days, a time trial and then some big mountain days. We'll definitely get a good gauge of where we're at after doing this Dauphine as there's a bit of everything there.

"I'm really happy with where I'm at currently. I was probably a bit eager earlier this season in Colombia and probably did a little bit too much. I feel like this camp has been very different to that and I've been able to do exactly what I need to do. The feelings are quite different now having come back from Tenerife if I compare them to how I felt when I got back from Colombia."

Team Ineos' roster for the Criterium du Dauphine (9th-16th of June):

Chris Froome
Vasil Kiryienka
Michal Kwiatkowski
Gianni Moscon
Wout Poels
Ian Stannard
Dylan van Baarle




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: