Julian Alaphilippe takes solo victory and Yellow Jersey in stage 3 of Tour de France
Jul 08 2019 11:05 pm CET

Julian Alaphilippe takes solo victory and Yellow Jersey in stage 3 of Tour de France
Julian Alaphilippe takes solo victory and Yellow Jersey in stage 3 of Tour de France
Photo of Julian Alaphilippe © Sigrid Eggers | Deceuninck - Quick-Step Cycling Team

Deceuninck-Quick-Step's Julian Alaphilippe has crossed the finish line of the third stage in the Tour de France by himself. The rider made a move on the penultimate climb and managed to hold the gap until the end.

The third stage of La Grande Boucle left Belgium from Binche and arrived in Epernay, in France, over a 215-kilometre rolling route that included three climbs of the third category, one of the fourth category and an uphill finish.

The breakaway of the day was created early on the stage and included Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal), Anthony Delaplace (Arkéa-Samsic), Yoann Offredo (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Paul Ourselin (Total Direct Energie) and Stéphane Rossetto (Cofidis) and it got a gap of more than six minutes with the pack.

Behind them, Jumbo-Visma's Tony Martin took the lead of the peloton for a long time and Deceuninck-Quick-Step also took turns. With 48 kilometres to go, Wellens decided to take things in his own hands and launched an attack that none of the other escapees could match, and soon created a gap with the others.

At around 30 kilometres from the end, the remaining escapees were reeled back in by the pack while Wellens maintained a gap of more than a minute with the rest. The Belgian rider also took enough KOM points to take the Polka Dot jersey from CCC Team's Greg Van Avermaet.

At the last part of the Cote de Mutigny, Deceuninck-Quick-Step's Julian Alaphilippe attacked and reached the top just behind Wellens, who had to stop to change bikes because he had a flat tyre. The Frenchman kept going in front by himself, while behind a group of chasers was formed by Emanuel Schachmann, Michael Woods, Mikel Landa and Alexey Lutsenko.

With 10 kilometres to go, the chasers were caught but Alaphilippe kept riding in front while Teunissen was joined by a group that included Simon Yates and Ilnur Zakarin behind the peloton. The Frenchman managed to maintain the gap with the rest and crossed the finish line by himself, taking also the lead of the General Classification.



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: