Daryl Impey wins first stage in Tour de France, Alaphilippe keeps Yellow
Jul 14 2019 11:46 pm CET

Daryl Impey wins first stage in Tour de France, Alaphilippe keeps Yellow
Daryl Impey wins first stage in Tour de France, Alaphilippe keeps Yellow
Photo of Mitchelton-Scott jersey (c) Jonathan Roorda / CyclingPub.com

Daryl Impey has taken the victory of the ninth stage at the Tour de France. The rider of Mitchelton-Scott arrived to the final metres with Tiesj Benoot and was the fastest at the final sprint.

The peloton faced a 170.5-kilometre hilly route in the ninth stage of the French race that took them from Saint-Etienne and Brioude. The French public could enjoy Julian Alaphilippe wearing the Yellow Jersey on their National day -Bastille Day- for the first time in five years, the last one was Tony Gallopin in 2014.

A group of 14 riders created the breakaway of the day and included names like Nicolas Roche, Tiesj Benoot, Oliver Naesen, Daryl Impey, Jasper Stuyven, Lukas Pöstlberger, Tony Martin and Edvald Boasson Hagen, among others. This group managed to create a gap of more than 14 minutes with the peloton.

Pöstelberger launched an attack with 30 kilometres to go and created a considerable gap with the rest of the escapees. Shortly after, seven riders also changed the pace from the breakaway to try to hunt the Austrian rider and with 15 kilometres to go, joined him at the head of the race.

In the last climb, Roche made a move and Benoot and Impey followed but moments later the Irishman of Sunweb couldn't hold the rhythm of the other two and was dropped. In the peloton, AG2R La Mondiale's Romain Bardet wanted to do a show for his public -the race was passing through his home region- and attack in the last categorised climb of the day, taking Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) and George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma) with him, but a couple of kilometres later they were reeled back in.

Impey -who was the first African rider to wear the Yellow Jersey in 2013- and Benoot arrived to the last stretch of the stage together and the South African was the fastest at the final sprint. Deceuninck-Quick-Step's Julian Alaphilippe crossed the finish line with the peloton and kept the Yellow Jersey for another day.



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: