Dimension Data to hunt stage victories in Vuelta a España
Aug 20 2019 12:39 am CET

Dimension Data to hunt stage victories in Vuelta a España
Dimension Data to hunt stage victories in Vuelta a España
Team Dimension Data

Dimension Data is ready to tackle the third grand tour of the season, the Vuelta a España, with a versatile roster that will go for stage victories.

The African team will start in the Spanish grand tour with riders that can tackle every terrain in the race and look for their individual glory. Ben King will make his return to try to equal or improve from the results he got in 2018, where he won two stages.

"I’m feeling strong after the Tour de France and am excited to return to the Vuelta with good memories," he explained. "We have a relatively young but very talented team. Having a card to play on every type of stage will guarantee that there’s never a boring stage for us!"

Edvald Boasson Hagen will make his return after starting in the race only once in 2013 and he will aim to become part of the club of stage winners in all three grand tours. "It will be nice to return to the Vuelta Espana and I look forward to this different approach to the end of my season," the Norwegian explained. "I really enjoy racing in Spain, even though it does not happen so often, but there are some nice stages at the Vuelta this year, so we hope to do well."

Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier will start in his second Vuelta a España and he will attempt to shine in the mountains. "After finishing a very difficult Giro d’Italia this year, I have come into the 2nd half of the season with some good strength and so I have very high motivation now," he explained.

"Last year it was my first Vuelta Espana and in the 3rd week, I could still achieve a top 10 result. This year I think I am stronger and have a little more experience, so I hope to be able to do a good result for me, the team and Eritrea."

Dimension Data's roster for the Vuelta a España (August 24-September 15):

Ben King
Edvald Boason Hagen
Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier
Louis Meintjes
Ben O'Connor
Nicholas Dlamini
Rasmus Tiller
Jaco Venter




Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: