Julian Alaphilippe outlines 2020 season and includes Tour of Flanders debut
Jan 12 2020 06:22 am CET

Julian Alaphilippe outlines 2020 season and includes Tour of Flanders debut
Julian Alaphilippe outlines 2020 season and includes Tour of Flanders debut
Photo of Julian Alaphilippe © Deceuninck-Quick-Step Cycling Team / Getty Images

Deceuninck-Quick-Step's Julian Alaphilippe is set to debut in the 2020 Tour of Flanders and has many goals for the upcoming season.

The 2019 season was formidable for the French rider as he wore the Yellow Jersey of the Tour de France for 11 stages, and won races like La Fleche Wallonne, Milano-Sanremo and Strade Bianche. The Frenchman also received the prestigious Velo d'Or, the International Flandrien trophies and was named the best sportsman of his country by L'Equipe and Eurosport.

Alaphilippe was one of the most demanded riders at the team's presentation in Calpe, Spain, just before travelling across the ocean to start his season in South America. "Last year was an amazing one and I know it will be difficult to repeat it, but I will do my best," the rider explained. "I will start once again in South America, with Argentina and Colombia, followed by an altitude training camp before returning to Europe for Paris-Nice.

"I am very motivated for that race, just as I'm when it comes to my debut in Ronde van Vlaanderen, where I'll go after racing Dwars door Vlaanderen. But I want to give my all also in the Ardennes Classics, which are again a major goal, before the second part of the season, when I'll do the Nationals, the Tour de France, the Olympics, the Worlds, and Lombardia, a race where I'm eager to return after three years."

Deceuninck-Quick-Step also presented its 28 riders for its 2020 season: Julian Alaphilippe, João Almeida, Shane Archbold, Kasper Asgreen, Andrea Bagioli, Davide Ballerini, Sam Bennett, Mattia Cattaneo, Rémi Cavagna, Tim Declercq, Dries Devenyns, Remco Evenepoel, Ian Garrison, Alvaro Hodeg, Mikkel Honoré, Fabio Jakobsen, Bob Jungels, Iljo Keisse, James Knox, Yves Lampaert, Michael Mørkøv, Florian Sénéchal, Pieter Serry, Stijn Steels, Jannik Steimle, Zdenek Stybar, Bert Van Lerberghe and Mauri Vansevenant (who'll join the squad on August 1st).



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: