NTT Pro Cycling to target stage victories in Tour Down Under
Jan 14 2020 10:30 pm CET

NTT Pro Cycling to target stage victories in Tour Down Under
NTT Pro Cycling to target stage victories in Tour Down Under
NTT Pro Cycling logo

NTT Pro Cycling is ready to kick off the 2020 season at the Tour Down Under in Australia with an eye on stage victories.

The 2020 season -first one for the formation under the NTT name- will start in Australia and the Tour Down Under will be opening of the WorldTour calendar. The South African formation will field a roster that mixed youth and experience.

Samuele Battistella and Dylan Sunderland will debut at the WorldTour level in the race and their objective will be to support the leaders and gain experience. Giacomo Nizzolo and Ryan Gibbons will lead the team's aspirations for stage wins as four of the days have the potential of finishing in a bunch sprint.

"We are excited to start the 2020 season and showing our new NTT Pro Cycling jersey in race action," said Head Sports Director Lars Michaelsen. "We have been preparing well and will confront the Tour Down Under with eagerness but like every year it’s with an unknown factor of where we actually are compared to our opponents.

"The total of six stages will normally see four sprint finishes and here we will support our two fast riders Ryan Gibbons and Giacomo Nizzolo. For the two uphill finishes in Paracombe and on Willunga Hill we will know after the first 2 stages who of our NTT riders has the legs to support them."

Gibbons have already finished in the top ten in two stages of the race in 2019 and he will aim to improve from those results. "I’m thoroughly looking forward to kicking off the season here in Australia," explained the rider. "After a promising performance last year and another season of experience I’m excited to see what we can achieve in 2020.

"The team is highly motivated and want to take every opportunity we can, I’m confident it will be a promising start to 2020 for NTT Pro Cycling."

NTT Pro Cycling's roster for the Santos Tour Down Under (January 21-26):

Giacomo Nizzolo
Danilo Wyss
Ryan Gibbons
Stefan de Bod
Rasmus Tiller
Dylan Sunderland
Samuele Battistella



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: