Anna Kiesenhofer surprises peloton and wins Gold at Tokyo 2020
Jul 25 2021 11:27 pm CET

Anna Kiesenhofer surprises peloton and wins Gold at Tokyo 2020
Anna Kiesenhofer surprises peloton and wins Gold at Tokyo 2020
Tokyo 2020 logo

Austria's Anna Kiesenhofer has taken the victory of the women's road race at the Olympic Games of Tokyo 2020. The rider was part of the breakaway and crossed the finish line by herself.

The race was 137 kilometres long and took the riders between Musashinonomori and the Fuji International Speedway over a route that included the climb of Doshi Road and the Kagosaka Pass. The escape of the day was formed on the first kilometres of the stage and included Anna Kiesenhofer (Austria), Anna Plichta (Poland) and Omer Shapira (Israel).

The peloton rode at a calm pace and Germany took charge of the work for most of the race and allowed the escape to build a gap of more than 19 minutes. The pace increased as the kilometres passed, and also in front -leaving only three riders in the escape.

Although the pack managed to catch Pichta and Shapira, the riders seemed to overlook that there was still one rider remaining in front. The road race in the Olympics, unlike other races in the calendar, doesn't allow the use of radios and most of the cyclist seemed to just not know that Kiesenhofer was in front.

On the last stretch of the race, the Netherlands took control of the rhythm in the peloton and with 14.9 kilometres to go, the winner of the 2016 road race in Rio, Anna van der Breggen, attacked but was reeled back in by the group of the favourites soon after.

The Austrian rider -who is not a professional cyclist- crossed the finish line by herself. On the last two kilometres, Annemiek van Vleuten (The Netherlands) launched an attack from the group and crossed the finish line one minute and 15 seconds after Kiesenhofer, doing a big celebration as she didn't know the Golden medal was already taken.

Italian rider Elisa Longo Borghini stepped on the final podium position of the competition. The top five of the race was completed by Lotte Kopecky (Belgium) and Marianne Vos (The Netherlands).



Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: